I wanted to hate it

                                                                              

I was recently introduced to a book series known as Outlander by a radio show I listen to when I drop my son off at school (The Bob and Sheri show). I downloaded the first in an eight book series on my iPad and there it sat for about a month. I was skeptical. 

As a self proclaimed bibliophile, I’m also a book snob. There. I said it. Usually, when someone raves about a book, I go into it with probably the worst mindset. What’s all the fuss about? Why is it so amazing that I should read it? I’m also always hesitant when a book series becomes so popular that it warrants a major motion picture or television series. Outlander has been made into a television series on Starz and that made my skepticism skyrocket.

It is not uncommon for me to read a book in a day. I become so engrossed in that world that it becomes my world. My reality. Reading is an escape of sorts for me from the mundane. Reading is the way I travel and see all the things I may never actually see. Seeing it with the mind’s eye is better than not at all right?

One of my biggest hesitations with this book series was the historical fiction concept. History is not so much my thing. I have a quite extensive knowledge of history, but no thirst to know more or to focus on it. I have to admit however, I was intrigued in the ability of an author to tie together romance, time travel, adventure, and historical fiction together in one book series. And that’s where a new obsession began.

Outlander begins with nurse Claire Randall in the 20th century, on a second honeymoon of sorts with her husband Frank in Inverness, Scotland.  Claire manages to accidentally be transported to 18th century Scotland in the middle of the uprising between England and Scotland. Claire runs smack dab into British dragoons and is saved/kidnapped by Highlander rogues. This is where you meet Jamie Fraser. A juicy piece of Scottish yumminess.  I don’t believe in spoilers, so I won’t go further into the plot. I will say there are quite a few tastefully written sex scenes, but I understand this will be a deal breaker for some. I am in love with this series, but take it for what it is. An awesome and amazing trashy read.  I highly recommend it. 

Rating: 🍷🍷🍷🍷🍷

Leave a Reply

