“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel.” -Maya Angelou 

Two people walked into a grocery store to get some deli sandwiches, not realizing that decision alone would cause them to change my life. Forever. For the better. 

A few days ago, I was having one of those days where you don’t want to wake up, everything’s fucked, and everybody sucks. (Excuse my Limp Bizkit reference, I couldn’t help myself.) In light of this, I did not want to be at work that day, or any day for that matter. My job makes me long for so much more, which is why I decide to finish up school to get my RN. 

This particular couple was embarking on a two week road trip vacation from Sarasota, Florida to Kansas. They were probably in their late 50’s and you could tell obviously still very much in love with each other, which is a rarity these days. They enthusiastically ordered their sandwiches and we engaged in small talk and chit chat. 

I don’t usually engage in small talk with customers because everyone is in a rush and wants what they want now and don’t want to be bothered by you having a human experience. There was something different about these people. They were kind, patient, and endearing. Their auras exuded magnanimity and they made me feel at peace. This was the best moment I’ve had at work in quite some time. They thanked me for being pleasant and chatting with them and for remarkable service. It lightened my hardened heart and made me remember that goodwill does still exist, somewhere. 

I don’t remember what they said, and eventually I won’t remember what they did, but I will always remember what they made me feel.

-K

Leave a Reply

