So, I finished reading Wife of a Lesser Man, and found myself in need of something to read. I began scrolling through my Kindle library to find something to catch my eye. Lo and behold, something jumped out at me. Unconventional by J.J. Hebert. I always go through the free Kindle download list and download multitudes of titles that seem interesting at the time. So obviously my Kindle library is so full I often don’t remember what they may be about.

I pulled up the description on Goodreads and was not too impressed. I decided to be lazy today and read it anyway. I am in love with this book by page 100 but was impressed by page 58. 

Each time they see someone who gathers trash, it’ll be: just the trash man. Whenever they see a man or woman working at McDonald’s or Wendy’s, it’ll be: just the burger- flipper. Whenever they spot someone who collects money at a supermarket or a person who bags groceries, it’ll be: just the cashier and just the bagger. One day, they’ll wake up as adults, with children of their own. They’ll be walking with their kids in a school, and their children will accidentally run into a person carrying out janitorial chores. Then, as parrots, they will recite to their children a phrase they heard it years prior, unaware of its origin: “Don’t worry, it’s just the janitor.” Children aren’t born prejudiced. They don’t hate. They don’t degrade. They learn these things from society. This is one of the greatest tragedies in the world: the circle of prejudice.

This is the passage on page 58 that jumped out and slapped me across the face. I hate my job. I have had a few jobs that people decide are beneath them and are done by people with no education and no value. Waiting tables was one of those. Now, it’s working in a grocery store deli. People dismiss me with “oh it’s just the girl who works the deli counter.” I see the pity in their eyes when they discover I’m not a college kid, but a wife and mother of three.

Now that I am on the road back to school, that sense of pity may vanish, but I doubt it. The thing about those menial jobs is this; someone has to do it. Obviously those who look down on me would never do these jobs, but they are necessary to keep their miserable lives rolling with the service they expect in life. Someone has to pickup trash, flip burgers, drive buses, work in the grocery stores. Some people are just normal, down to earth people, and that’s okay. Some people are destined for more and want to be fancy. That’s okay too. 

But why treat either of those as any less of a person? Like their value is less or more than the other? Think about it.

-K

Leave a Reply

