200 lbs of yuck 

  
This my friends is what I call 200 lbs of yuck. I have been battling hypothyroidism for about 5 years now and it has all come to a head. I hate the way the extra weight makes me look, feel, I hate the way I look and feel in my clothing. Clothes shopping is enough to send me into an anxiety ridden and depressed about everything frenzy of tears.

Recently, after an appointment with my family physician, it was determined that my thyroid levels aren’t responding to my current dosage of thyroid medication anymore and they would feel more comfortable referring me to an endocrinologist rather than fiddle with the dosages themselves. Once I finally finished playing phone tag with the one employee that is allowed to schedule appointments, my appointment was scheduled. FOR JULY 29! So now I’m waiting for that. Meanwhile, I’m taking a dosage of medication daily that is essentially doing me no good. By the time my appointment gets here, I’ll have been doing that for 5 months.

Yesterday, I decided I was tired of being miserable, fat, and uncomfortable in my own body. So, I threw myself into researching the IIFYM lifestyle change. I was overwhelmed. Luckily, I have a very good friend that has been doing it for awhile and has it down to a science. She has been a huge help. I started eating this way today and it’s been simple really. The My Fitness Pal app makes it easier than I ever imagined it could be.

My problem with my attempts in the past was I was depriving myself of things I desperately wanted. I would tell myself no for a week or two, and then binge and destroy my efforts when I finally gave in. I think that the IIFYM fits my lifestyle and will work for me because I can make it fit me.

I also started a beginners lifting program. I am no longer afraid to look bulky or gross because of muscle mass. I see a few women in my gym who weight lifting has transformed into rocking bodies.  I want that. I want a hard, fit body that I’ve worked my ass off for.

Usually, I feel stupid about weightlifting, but today, with my workout plan, I felt empowered. I felt like I knew what I was doing. I love this feeling of being fit. It’s a journey and will be long, but I am excited to see where this journey takes me.

Leave a Reply

